It is November!

In the last couple of weeks, I have come to realise the significance of the little choices that a person makes throughout their life.  It is common knowledge that every choice has a consequence, but sometimes, we often forget the magnitude that several small choices can have on our eventual position.  This week, my new companion, Elder Cutshall, and I are preparing one of our amies, Jean-Louis, for his baptism this weekend.  It is incredible to think that this all began with a simple desire to find someone who was ready to receive the restored gospel, and a simple decision to turn to a 60 year old man who just got off the phone with his father, and talk to him about his beliefs in God.  I am so grateful for the choice I made at that very instant in that very train, at that very time, to speak to Jean Louis because not only is he preparing for his very own baptism, but he has gained an incredible testimony over the last 4 weeks.  I have learnt that simple décisions in life can lead to eternal conséquences, and I am grateful for the opportunity to be a missionary, because not only do my choices influence me, they have the ability to impact the lifes of others.
 
One of the greatest miracles I saw this week was from Jean Louis.  For those who aren’t familiar with the standards of health that members of The Church of Jésus-Christ of Latter-day Saints follow, formally known as the “Word of Wisdom” or “La Parole de Sagesse” (en Français), we do not drink coffee, tea, alcohol, drugs or anything that is addictive.  This is mainly because our bodies are gifts from God and God has instructed us to refrain from consuming these sustances.  This week, we had to teach Jean Louis this commandment, and commit him to it, in preparation for his baptism.  For him, drinking coffee was something he had to do everyday in order to prevent the headaches that would arise if he had not had his cup for the day.  But in the end, he faithfully and courageously committed himself to keeping this commandment.  The next day, he called us, accounting to us that he had managed to get through the entire day without coffee.  He said that because he had prayed sincerely to ask for help to stop drinking coffee, he had received the strength to.  What was miraculous to me was his ability to recognize spiritual strength through simple acts of prayer.  Because of his sincere desire. he was able to overcome his coffee habit.  Miracles happen when sincere desire is couple with acts of faith. 
 
Another significant change this week is also my companion.  As I mentioned earlier, Elder Cutshall is my new companion.  It definitely takes time getting used to new companions.  Elder Hall was a very “hit the ground running” kind of person, but my companion now is a little more relaxed and easy-going.  It will take some time trying to understand how we can best work most effectively, but as the mission president said, every companion is a chance for you to grow and develop.  I am excited to learn from my companion. 
 
Finally, I would like to end with a quote to that I came across during personal study. 
 
On the topic of missionary work, with a focus on member missionary work, Elder Neil A. Anderson said, “As surely as the Lord has inspired more missionaries to serve, He is also awakening the minds and opening the hearts of more good and honest people to receive the missionaries.  You already know them or will know them.  They are in your family and live in your neighborhood.  They walk past you on the street, sit by you in school and connect with you online.”
 
I know that there are people being prepared to received the gospel, and I have noticed this especially during my time here.  I know that the gospel of Jesus Christ can bless our lives and the lives of our families.  I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God and that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has the fulness of the gospel.
 
A bientôt and Bon Courage!
 
Elder Parker Lam
Leave a Reply

