Recovery and Reflections from the New Year‏

Fortunately, my companion, Elder Cutshall and I are now fully recovered from being sick.  The last 2 weeks of trying to arrange exchanges so that our investigators were being taken care of while the other was sick was a challenge.  Thankfully, and amazingly, we have had a speedy recovery and we were able to stay in contact with all our investigators.  One of the things I have learnt is to never take the simple things in life, like health, for granted.  Sometimes, we do not realise how much we have until we have lost it.  So remember gratitude, because it makes your life so much happier.

 
Perhaps the highlight of this past week was our Zone Conference.  We met with all the other missionaries in our zone – Evry, Melun, Antony and Cergy – and were presented the missionary theme for this year:  Doctrine and Covenants 64:32-34:
 

32 But all things must come to pass in their time.

33 Wherefore, be not aweary in bwell-doing, for ye are laying the foundation of a great work. And out of csmall things proceedeth that which is great.

 34 Behold, the Lord arequireth the bheart and a cwilling mind; and the willing and dobedient shall eeat the good of the land of Zion in these last days.

A heart and a willing mind, accompanied with obedience, were the points that were highlighted to us.  I have seen the truth of this simple scripture not only in my life as a missionary, but in my entire life.  With a heart and a willing mind, champions are made and success follows.  I remember my swimming coach at Stanford telling us how important every little detail counts – from the technique, to the things we eat, to how we sleep and if we stretch – the little things add up.  The same goes for missionary work, all the little details, especially where our obedience is concerned, help us see the miracles in our work, and it is an amazing experience, everyday, to be a part of it.  How could this apply to you?
 
Amidst the many new year’s resolutions that I have made as a missionary, one of them is to not get disappointed or frustrated with the things that I cannot control.  This is one of the most difficult things to do in missionary work.  All my life, I have always equated hard work and dedication to success.  However, here in the mission, where our job is to help guide other people to gain a testimony of the truthfulness of the gospel, it does get a little disappointing when investigators are not keeping their commitments, or when they have received a testimony but do not want to change.  I guess that is why missions are such great learning experiences – we get to put ourselves in the shoes of our Heavenly Father and feel what it is like when we make wrong choices.  I really appreciate and am grateful for the way that my Heavenly Father has loved me continually despite the mistakes I have made.  
 
What more can we do this year?  How can we be better?  How can we help and serve those around us more this year?
 
I know the Church is true and that the Book of Mormon is the word of God;
 
Till next time, 
Elder Parker Lam
Leave a Reply

