A Week of Highlights

Plenty of great highlights this week. 

Gave a district meeting on the importance of having vision, and how, through careful planning, we can receive personal revelation that will propel our work as missionaries.  Because our district consists of 4 mandarin speaking missionaries, Zone Leaders and Sister Training Leaders, time can get pretty tight as we all try to fulfill the different callings that we have been given.  So I shared a 3 step process that would help us become more efficient as we our weekly and daily goals: 

1.  Be a SMART missionary (Set goals that are Specific, Manageable, Attainable, Realistic and that have a Time Defined) 

2.  Consult the Lord through Prayer:  Determine if the goals and activities planned for that day are the best possible things to be done that day

3.  Go out in Courage and Faith

I feel like I have learnt a lot as a district leader in the past few weeks – not just in terms of how to inspire or lead, but also on how to be a better servant, a better companion and better missionary.  Trying to figure out the training for the week can be a little tough sometimes because it is always about trying to give exactly what the district needs for the week.  Nevertheless, I have been blessed with inspiration so many times and I now have a greater testimony of the power of prayer. 

I also had the opportunity to go on a Zone leader exchange with Elder Clawson, one of the French elders in my district, and it was such a great experience.  Apart from the fact that we took a morning jog around the Eiffel Tower for morning exercise, we had the pleasure of teaching a recent convert a lesson with the 2nd counsellor in our ward.  After pulled pork. corn and a delicious bread pudding with ice cream and caramel, we adjourned to the living room and talked about the power of the Atonement of Jesus Christ.  One of the simple yet profound questions that came to mind was “What does knowledge that “I am a Child of God” mean to me?”  Have you ever thought about that?  What does it motivate me to do?  How does it change my perspective, and how does it change my view of the people around me?  One of my favorite scriptures in the Doctrine and Covenants reads:

“Wherefore, he that preacheth and he that receiveth, understand one another, and both are aedified and brejoice together.”

I definitely felt edified after that lesson, and it is such a blessing to be able to be an instrument in the Lord’s hands.

Another highlight of the week was a surprise visit from the Varel family, one of the families from my family ward back in Singapore.  They carried delicious gifts of Lao Po Bing, my favorite chinese pastries and I was really happy to be able to see people I knew all the way in another part of the world.  We had dinner together with the Pettitt family and there was much joy and love in the atmosphere that evening. 

To end the phenomenal week of teaching, contacting, and service, we had an incredible sacrament meeting, where the Spirit was so strong.  Last week I mentioned how an Iranian man was sent to jail because of his beliefs.  The brother of the Iranian man who was baptized yesterday gave a short testimony of how his father died in Iran because of his beliefs as a mormon.  It just made me realise how much we take our freedom for granted.  There are so many blessings that in our lives that we hardly recognise because we are always searching for more.  Today, I spent some time reflecting on the blessings that I have had as a missionary and as a person, and it has made me a much happier person.

I hope all of you at home are still going strong, chasing the dreams that you have, but don’t forget to take some time to reflect on the blessings you have received!

The Book of Mormon is the word of God.

La Semaine Prochaine!

 

Image

Dinner with the Pettitt family and one of the families in my ward in Singapore:  The Varel Family

Leave a Reply

