And that is a Quarter of a Century lived‏

So this is my first birthday as a missionary.  It is an interesting feeling because until yesterday, I did not really realise that it was really going to be my birthday!  So now I am 25, and that is a quarter of a century old.  One of the chinese members told me yesterday that you go from 22 to 23 to 24 and then immediately to 30.  She definitely did well reminding me how old I have actually become.  In fact, if there is one thing that I am grateful for at this point in my life, it is the chance I have had to have had all the experiences that I have had (lots of have had’s there), to have been surrounded by kind, loving and genuine family members, friends, and people.  That in itself is one of Heavenly Father’s greatest blessings.

Well, we had transfer results today.  I will be stepping into my 6th transfer as a missionary here in the Paris mission.  We received a message from the Assistants to the President this last Saturday saying that this transfer, there will not be many changes.  Well, true enough, there won’t be any changes in the district!  I am going to be here in Paris with Elder Kwang as a companion for another transfer!  And I am really excited to have a 3rd transfer here in Paris with him.  Elder Kwang and I have gotten along really well these last 2 transfers.  He has really grown as a missionary in the last 2 transfers, and likewise, I have learnt a lot from him about how to be a better leader, companion, friend and person.  I am certain that Heavenly Father has a lot in store for us this transfer; and because we are already so used to working with each other, it is going to be easier to step up our game, work more efficiently and find more people.

In fact, this past week, we have been given a slight preview of what this transfer has in store.  I know that especially this past week, we were really, really led by Heavenly Father.  We found the most investigators we had ever found in one week, and taught more lessons than we had ever done in the past.  After having a difficult week last week trying to find new investigators, we were determined to go forth in faith and hold nothing back this week.  We went out contacting Wednesday morning, really trying to go according the promptings that we were receiving.  We prayed at every turn and junction and found ourselves in a new neighborhood we had not been to before.  As we were walking, we decided to talk to a mom and her daughter walking.  We talked to them about Easter, shared a brief message, prayed with them and managed to arrange another meeting with them at their house on Saturday.  Saturday at their home was incredible.  The mother had invited another friend, and their 18 year old son was there.  They said, right off the bat, that they had faith in God but just did not know how to strengthen their faith in God.  That was so perfect, because that is, in fact, precisely our job as missionaries – to be guides for others so that they can come unto Christ.  We shared a message about the Atonement and the Resurrection and we will be seeing them again this week.  Elder Kwang and I had been praying for a long time – 2 transfers – to find a family that would be ready to receive the restored gospel and we found them during our last week of the transfer.  How incredible.

But it does not stop there.  A woman that we contacted and taught on the street outside our house 2 weeks ago also called us up on Monday morning saying that she really wanted to have a copy of the Book of Mormon and wanted to buy it.  She told us that the prayer and the message that we left her the Saturday before had really helped her overcome the stress she had been feeling and wanted to find out more about the gospel!  She became a new progessing investigator this week.  Also, another old man walked into the visitor’s center while we were there this week and said that he really wanted to feel God more in his life.  We taught him a few times this week, and on the Saturday, he brought a friend, who eventually said that she wanted to learn from us every week.  I also received a surprise call this past week from my old ville – Evry.  The missionaries there said that they found a chinese man who they contacted, but could not speak French or English.  He was a cook at a diner and had been living here for the past 30 years.  They fixed a meeting with him for wednesday and said there was no way to contact him to confirm the meeting.  We went in faith anyway, all the way to Evry, to meet him that wednesday, hoping that he would show up, and he did!  He was one of the kindest most open, ready-to-receive-the-gospel-people I had ever met.  I knew from when I talked to him, that one day, he would be a great pillar for the chinese members here in Paris.  I felt strongly that he would hold the priesthood one day.  So, all in all, Elder Kwang found 8 new investigators, taught 20 lessons, and had a great week!  We are set up well for this coming transfer and will continue to ”Thrust in our sickles with all our might.”  I am so excited to serve with Elder Kwang again.

Now that we are nearing Easter, I hope that you will spend some time reflecting on the importance of the resurrection of Jesus Christ.  Jesus Christ came to the world to fulfill the Plan the Heavenly Father gave to all of us, His children.  It dawned on me as I was reading Matthew 28:1-6 that if Jesus Christ was not resurrected, it means that everything He had ever done during His life was not true.  The gospel would not be true because He would not have overcome death and atoned for our sins, weaknesses, and sufferings.  I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior and I know that we can one day return to live with our Heavenly Father because Jesus Christ made it possible. 
Have a happy Easter!  Passé une joyeux Pâque!!!

Elder Lam 

P.S. Thank you for all the Birthday Wishes once again!

Leave a Reply

