By Small and Simple Things‏

have come to realise that with each passing week, it becomes more and more difficult to highlight my favorite miracles from the week because there are just so many each day.  Of course, there are highs and lows everyday but the highs just seem to overwrite any lows that there were during the week.  For example, last week, we were out talking to people on the street for almost 3 hours, but when we finally found someone who had been earnestly looking for the gospel at the end, I was actually not only excited to have found someone, but also grateful that I had chosen not to give up before then.  After all, the rainbow only appears after the rain.

One of my favorite highlights from this week happened to be district meeting.  Being district leader for nearly 3 transfers has stretched me and helped me grow incredibly.  Every week, I study the scriptures and pray hard to know what my district (of 8 really outstanding missionaries) need to hear before and learn to inspire them and propel them towards the goals that we have fixed as a mission. And truly, most of my personal study time spent planning district meeting is spent praying.  Last week, I had the impression that we really needed to focus our efforts on extending commitments to our amis.  We needed to be reminded of the tiny details that would make all the difference in the progression of our amis.  I was searching hard and praying hard to know if there was a story that I could share that would highlight the important principles of extending commitments.  After my prayer, the story of Peter and Jesus Christ walking on water in Matthew 14 came to mind.  Every verse from 25-31 was filled with meaning and inspirration and it was a perfect story.  Everyone was inspired and everyone contributed to how we could be better missionaries in extending commitments just from those 6 verses.  Incredible.  The scriptures really do teach us, even if we may live two milleniums later. 

Elder Kwang and I also had a baptism yesterday!  Roger, our professor, was baptised yesterday and perhaps my favorite part of the baptismal service yesterday was hearing his testimony.  He bore a strong and sure testimony of the truthfulness of the Book of Mormon and the Church, and he shared how by keeping the simple commitments, he was able to see the powerful changes in his life over the last 2 months.  I am so grateful to be a missionary, to be able to be a guide to help people find the love of our Heavenly Father at a time when they need Him most.  We may not be able to control the choices of others, but we can be there for them when they need us. 
By small and simple things are great things brought to pass.  The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is the only true church on the earth today.  I know it with all my heart.

Till next week! 

Elder Lam

Leave a Reply

