The Year Mark‏

Time always seems to pass by too fast, especially on Preparation days.  That is definitely the life of a missionary – time always sprints by too fast.  With a year on the mission already under my belt, I can honestly say that this past year has been the best investment I have made – an investment because I know that the experiences that I have gained out here in the mission field here in France will continue to fortify my faith and influence the decisions that I will make in my life.  The blessings I have gained on the mission are too numerous to count, and being on the mission has helped me realize the plenitude of blessings that I have received in my personal life before the mission.  It is much easier now for me to be grateful in any circumstance, and I know more than ever that Heavenly Father does know each of us personally, and has a great plan for all of us.  So always remember that while we may not seem like we mean a lot in this world, we mean everything to our Heavenly Father.

This past week has been one full of miracles.  When I was first moved to Torcy this transfer, not only to be a zone leader, but to help build a chinese missionary team here, it was pretty hard.  We did lots and lots and lots of contacting.  We talked to everyone that we could, on the train, on the bus, on the street, on our way to appointments.  We really tried to seize every single opportunity to teach and find those who are looking for the restored gospel.  Though it was not easy, I can honestly say that I grown to be able to talk to just about anyone.  Two weeks ago, Elder Coulombe and I met a Chinese mother, Sister Gao as we call her, and her young son.  We were in the process of teaching the Plan of Salvation to 2 young men who were handing out free Bibles.  Well, we set an appointment with Sister Gao to teach her the next day.  Initially, we were under the impression that she only wanted to learn to speak English from us, because she was really happy when we spoke to her in English when we first contacted her.  It turned out that she was not only interested in hearing the message we had, but was so interested she did not even want us to teach her English.  Well, this week, we set a baptismal date for this coming sunday, which she was more than ready to receive.

I have learnt from this experience that once again, when there is a will, there is way, and even more than that, when we are doing our Heavenly Father’s will, there is most definitely a way to accomplish it. 

As a way to celebrate my year mark, I had dinner at a chinese restaurant near our home.  It was a great way to be taken back to the times when my family and I would head out to the nearby “Five Star Kampong Chicken” restaurant and just have family time.  To think that it will come in a year’s time is incredible.  Time on a mission is really too short, there is so much to learn and do, and it just urges me to ensure that I am doing all I can to grow in the next 12 months. 

Have a great week ahead!  The Book of Mormon is the word of God and the Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter-day Saints is the only church that has the fulness of the gospel. 

A bientot!
Elder Lam
at Pont des Arts, the bridge with a thousand billion locks

at Pont des Arts, the bridge with a thousand billion locks

Leave a Reply

