“It is the quality of years that counts, not the quantity.”‏

Another great week filled with much excitement here in Versailles.  My companion and I had the opportunity to go on 3 exchanges, and without any surprise, I was once again impressed at the quality of missionaries that we have in this mission, the France Paris Mission.  I guess I can safely say that this is definitely the best mission in the world. 🙂
This week’s message will be a little shorter.  It is something that I have reflected on over the last few days.  In our mission, we have set the stakes high and set goals for the mission to double the number of converts that we have in the area of this mission.  President Babin was inspired to set this goal, and I know that it is something that the Lord has planned for his children here in France.  Of course, this comes with no small effort on our part.  The culture of the France Paris Mission, according to the missionaries and the mission president, can be succinctly summarized in three words, “Obedient,” “Hard-working” and “Miraculous.”   Over the past few years, we have seen great progression in the level of commitment and faith of the missionaries and that is one of the reasons why I have no doubt that we can, as a mission, fulfill the Lord’s plan to double the number of converts in the year.  However, with the missionaries already hitting the pavements contacting and knocking doors for hours daily, it would be impossible to simply increase the quantity of people that are contacted or the number of doors knocked.  There is only so much that a missionary can do in the day, and to simply pile on more work would only create more stress.  Thus, President Babin has insisted that the importance of “quality and not merely quantity” is enforced – doing the little things that would make the most difference.
While the theme of quality and not quantity may apply to missionary work – teaching, talking to people, or working with members, I think that it applies also to the missionaries in a very personal way.  Why did Heavenly Father send out young, inexperienced missionaries to the field to bring the most important message to the world?  Why did He give such a huge responsibility to such incapable youngsters?
I came to the conclusion that it was, as my father said in one of his letters to me,
“It is the quality of years that counts, not the quantity.”
Heavenly Father knew very well that He would be sending out the “weak things of the world,” us young missionaries.  He knew that we would have these incapacities, but He also knew that we had the experience that was necessary.  I know without a doubt that every single missionary was sent here onto their missions to touch the lives of at specific people.  He knew that because we would be weak, we would be the best instruments for this great work.  With weakness would come humility and faith – essential elements that would empower a missionary.  As the apostle Paul said, “For when I am wek, then am I strong.”
One of the quotes I have come to love on my mission reads:
“God is not the God of superheroes, nor of people without weaknesses.  Such beings do not exist!  God helps people like you and me, those who recognize their limits and the weakness of their condition and seek His help and guidance.  Failing to recognize our limitations will block our progression.  On the other hand, accepting them humbly lays the foundation for eternal progression.” – Bishop Gerard Causse of the Presiding Bishopric.
I know that each missionary has been called to do this great work because of the very qualities and weaknesses they have.  I know that I have been able to see the miracles on my mission through understanding this simple principle – that the Lord will strengthen the weak who are humble and meek.  And I know that He will do the same for you because He loves you.
“For with God, nothing is impossible.”
I love being a missionary.  I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God.
A vous tous, passez une tres tres belle semaine qui est rempli avec les miracles!
Elder Lam
Leave a Reply

