A Meeting with a Recent Convert

One of the greatest difficulties for me as a missionary is to leave the recent converts that I have been able to see to waters of baptism.  While we as missioanries may do all that we can to get these recent converts well-integrated into the ward, and to have all the support that they will need so that they may continue to progress spiritually, leaving them in the hands of other missionaries or the ward can sometimes be a little uneasy.  To put in a more common context, it is the same uneasiness that parents might feel when they drop their children in college for their very first day at school.

Well, this week, I had the chance to see a few of the recent converts that I have grown to love dearly during my mission, and during both of these encounters, I was truly comforted by how far they had come after last seeing them.  One of them, in particular, filled me with great joy.
I met Prisen this week after one of the conferences that Elder Christiansen and I had given a training in.  He walked into the dining room, eyes bright and excited, saying that he had heard from another missionary that I had come.  I was thrilled to be able to see him, because it had been more than 7 months since I had last seen him.  I remember how he had been the answer to the prayers of Elder Teh and I.  We had spent 3 weeks contacting everyday without much success of finding someone who was truly ready for baptism, and in the final weeks, he walked into our lives and was baptized 2 weeks later.  He was truly ready.  Well, Prisen had been doing really really well – he received his patriarchal blessing and was preparing to receive the Melchizedek Priesthood in a month’s time.  He told me that he was planning to serve a mission in August, and said that he was so grateful for the blessings that he had received ever since his baptism last year.  Hearing him say that he was now preparing himself to go on a mission out of a personal desire to share the gospel brought warmth to my heart, because he had not only been converted, but was preparing himself to help other come to know the same blessings.
I was reminded quickly of the wonderful blessing it is for me to be a missionary.  We do not just come here to find people to baptize, we come here to help people on their road back to their Heavenly Father, to help them receive the same blessings that we had received in our lives through the restored gospel.  I know that the work of the savior is great, and that this work is the greatest work not because of what we do, but how is changes us and helps us to become better.
I know that the Book of Mormon is the word of God.  I know that the gospel has been restored and that everyone can receive an answer of its truthfulness if they would ask with faith in the Savior, with real intent and with a sincere heart
Merci pour votre amour et a la semaine prochaine!
Elder Lam
Leave a Reply

